A Letter to Ben and Jerry’s

americone-dream

Attention: Ben and Jerry

Dear whomever else is reading this letter (probably not Ben or Jerry),

 

Growing up in a household of Ben and Jerry lovers, I have been exposed to many flavors over the years. I have always envied the iconic humans that get flavors named after them: Stephen Colbert, Jimmy Fallon, Tina Fey etc… Basically, you know when you’ve made it in this world when you have a flavor of Ben and Jerry’s homemade ice cream named after you. So this is what I am wondering….

 

I am starting my PhD at the University of Vermont this year in order to pursue a career in Neuroscience. And I would like to cater that career to, hopefully, one day have a flavor named after me (or related to neuroscience- I’d still consider that a personal victory). Any suggestions for preparing for such a feat? I have already created a list of possible flavor names:

 

  1. Brain Freeze– blueberry ice cream, almonds, and chocolate brains
  2. Headache Protector– coffee ice cream, coffee beans, and vanilla/caramel swirl
  3. Cone Head Technology (my personal favorite)- chocolate waffle cone pieces, chocolate brains, and mint ice cream

 

I’m thinking part of the proceeds could help increase public awareness of the progress and benefits of brain research. Specifically, for mental illnesses like depression and PTSD (post-traumatic stress disorder).

 

Anyways, I would  appreciate any and all insight and regardless of the response, I will probably continue to consume Ben and Jerry’s. No promises though.

 

Sincerely,

 

~Brittany Fair

PhD student

University of Vermont

 

P.S. Why doesn’t Jon Stewart have a flavor?

Leave a Reply

