Zip Lining in Boquete’s Cloud Forest, Panama

Screen shot 2013-02-15 at 17.07.34

Boquete is a small town located on either side of the Caldera river in the Chiriqui Provence in Panama. It is also one of the most beautiful towns in all of Panama and one of the few places where you can speak absolutely no Spanish and be OK. Thankfully, my Spanish has improved since living in Panama for over a month now, so I can now order things, ask to go places and buy things with ease in Spanish. Although by all accounts, I am certainly still considered a gringa.

Screen shot 2013-02-15 at 17.08.35

Boquete is so incredibly special because it is surrounded by Panama’s largest volcano and amazing giant tropical cloud forests. These forests provide homes for all sorts of animals including the illusive quetzal bird, dart frogs, and jaguars. This is where my two friends, Tiffany and Jay and I decided we wanted to go zip lining. So, we arranged a tour for $65/4 hrs through Tree Trek and at 7:45am on a Sunday morning we were prepped and ready to learn to fly through the trees. I was super cold….but my excitement kept a smile on my face. Jay and Tiffany coped by singing haha.

Screen shot 2013-02-15 at 17.10.36

I was a little nervous, but I was more excited to just try it. I mean zip lining wasn’t flying, but it was pretty close and I’ve ALWAYS wanted to learn to fly (like a bird, not a plane, although that would be cool too).  One of our guides, Carlos, prepped me and then I was off!

Screen shot 2013-02-15 at 17.11.44

We flew over streams, water falls, and ginormous trees! AND while waiting on the last platform we were lucky enough to see a quetzal! I wasn’t able to get my camera out in time, but here’s a picture from the internet. It flew by super fast, but was splendid in color.

neotropical.birds.com

neotropical.birds.com

After our adventure we enjoyed our hot mochas in the jungle lodge. It was only 10:30 am and I was still freezing! We were also presented certificates for completing our zip lining…not really sure why…but ok! Definitely an amazing experience!  ~B

IMG_3419

Leave a Reply

