Snowshoeing on Mt. Hood, Oregon

IMG_6916While visiting Portland and Seattle this past week, I was able to escape the constant city stress for a day in the snow on Mt. Hood! Now I had never been snowshoeing before, but the offer sounded too good to turn down- people actually snowshoe? I guess this is one sport where being from California failed me. We rented $10 snowshoes from Next Adventure near downtown Portland and drove an hour on Interstate-84 up to Mt. Hood- a super easy drive if I must say so. The roads were clean and snow-less and there were no real sharp turns, which I really appreciate!

We pulled off at Trillium Lake and prepared ourselves for the 4 mile snowshoeing adventure we were about to have. During the winter the lake is entirely frozen over and you can actually snowshoe across it! So I’ve heard….

The trail began with a downhill and then weaved through small hills with a spectacular view of Mt. Hood’s peak for a majority of the time. We decided to take a little photo break and as you’ll notice  I’m in short sleeves- it was hot!

Thats Mt. Hood behind us!

Thats Mt. Hood behind us!

Snowshoeing was surprisingly pleasant! Although it was hard to take it seriously at first….I really found myself enjoying it! It was like winter hiking, but with snowshoes. It was a good workout, but you didn’t really feel it. Plus winter hiking through forests covered in snow is pretty spectacular- not much can compare. After about 45 on the trail we reached the lake and decided to rest for lunch. Some little birds were also very interested in our homemade hummus, avocado and cheddar sandwiches….

This little guy almost succeeded in grabbing my lunch!

This little guy almost succeeded in grabbing my lunch!

An actual Blue Jay instead of the normal Californian Scrub Jays I'm so used to seeing

An actual Blue Jay instead of the normal Californian Scrub Jays I’m so used to seeing

I decided to take my chances and wander out onto the frozen lake….

IMG_6909

All in all, it was a successful day. If I lived in a place that snowed I would totally buy snow shoes! Until then I’ll just have to remember my wonderful day on Mt. Hood with Sharon and Keenan 🙂 Mt. Hood is certainly an easy way to escape Portland for a day and have a ton of fun!

IMG_6915

Leave a Reply

