Saint-Émilion, France

IMG_3176

I once went on a road trip in France; I fell asleep in the car and when I awoke, I found myself in the UNESCO World Heritage Site of Saint Emilion. It felt like I had just been transported into an ancient land! (Although in reality Saint Emilion is only 35 km (22 mi) northeast of Bordeaux)

IMG_3164

Saint Emilion is a tiny town of about 2,000 people that live among ancient Roman ruins and vineyards that were planted in the 2nd century. Thus, it is also one of the most renowned wine areas of all of France!  Their specialities are Merlot and Cabernet Franc.

IMG_3169 IMG_3189

This famous Monolithic Church was constructed in the early 12th century in honor or Saint Emilion. It boasts 3 naves with a small catacomb underneath. The main structure of the church was carved and dug from the rocky hillside behind it. Pretty cool 🙂

IMG_3183

The town has many interesting walls that I assume have either been carved, or worn beautifully! This is one of my traveling friends, Ana.

IMG_3199And lastly, Saint Emilion offers many interesting statues including this one above. Although it is not entirely complete, I love how there are bodies that have been carved into the side as well as the main figure on top. It makes my mind wonder. Happy travels! ~B

Leave a Reply

