End of the World- 12/21/12

What will you be doing this Friday? Where will you be? Who will you be with? 

The Mayan calendar will officially be over this Friday the 21st. It is the end of thousands of years of astonishing predictability from a group of people who knew art, architecture and arithmetic. NASA scientists have researched the possibility of the the Earth ending in 2012, yet, their conclusion is that no changes will actually occur. Like our modern Gregorian calendar, the Mayan calendar will simply restart and the long count will begin once more. (NOTE: the long count is the part of the Mayan calendar shaped like a wheel)

Photo via National Geographic

Photo via National Geographic

But what if they’re wrong? What if the world does end?

I was supposed to be going to my first wedding on this day, but that is no longer in the cards- I will no longer stare up at my “best boyfriend ever” as he looks super handsome as a groomsman. No, this will not happen.

Photo via Erin Wehman

Photo via Erin Wehman

So for a second, consider what you might change or keep the same if the world were really to end…did you do it right? Were you honest with others and yourself?

I think I’ve been honest. And you know what, sometimes life doesn’t work out how you’ve masterfully planned in your head. So if I make it through today, the one thing that I wish to change for the future is to let go. I can’t control everything, and its probably time I come to terms with this.

So what do you do on the last day of the world?

Screen shot 2012-12-20 at 12.10.44Well I feel its only appropriate to dress up like an Ancient Mayan…..and hope for the best.

Best of luck. ~B

Leave a Reply

