Eco Tour of the San Francisco Bay

5 hour boat tour of the Bay AND I get to learn about ecology? Sign me up!

Chris in the pouring rain on the boat

The only bad part was that we had to be there at 7:30 in the morning and if you know me at all…that is asking A LOT! However, somehow Chris and I managed to be at Pier 40 in San Francisco at this ungodly hour. I didn’t know quite what to expect, but I soon found myself letting out a huge net while on a research vessel making its way through the Bay. We pulled the net in and found aย plethora of cool interesting animals I didn’t even know existed out there!

Spider Crab

I have rather an obsession over nudibranchs (sea slugs) so this one below truly made my day.

Adult and baby nudibranch Dendronotus iris

Overall, it was a wonderful experience. We got to catch fish, pull up mud from the bottom (only 18ft deep!), and do some water testing. Plus, there was an excellent view of the city the entire time. I would definitely recommend this as a worthwhile adventure. Oh and make sure to join the mud club while you’re out there! ~B

Leave a Reply

