Sick People Scare Children

Everyone knows that being sick sucks. You feel like shit, your boss hates you and you get a ginormous (<-this is the weirdest spelled word ever!) pimple right in the middle of your face AND constantly if you are a woman, you will start your period. Yes, being sick is glamorous. But, it is also one of the more honest times in your life, for when you are sick you really don’t care to hold anything back. You feel terrible and simply don’t have the energy to sugar coat it.

This usually works out unpleasantly and not in your favor, however, when you work at a middle school full of wide-eyed children- you actually have the ability to strick fear.

You see, it was 100 degrees outside and I had a fever so I was holding an ice pack over the back of my neck when two young girls walked up. One sat down and began playing in the dirt (more specifically covering my feet in dirt), while the other looked me over.

Can I have an ice pack?” She asked.

“No, these are only for teachers” I replied without hesitation.

“But what if I’m dehydrated?”

“Then we’ll have to stick a big needle in your arm and inject fluids intravenously into your circulatory system” I answered without blinking an eye.

She quickly walked away looking upset.

Why did you just do that?” the other girl (the one burying my feet) asked me sounding concerned.

Because its true.”

Thank God she didn’t say she was dying from the heat. And this is why you do not got to work sick, especially when you work with children.

4 thoughts on “Sick People Scare Children

  1. Hi! I was just wondering, if I could get owner of the pic you used. it’s just that I am using the pic for my newsletter. If you can’t tell me then, can you just tell me ur full name because my newsletter require a source in every picture. Btw, I love ur posts. 🙂 Thank you so much. 🙂

    • Great question! You know, I just grabbed that image off of Google. You are welcome to use my name as a source- Brittany Fair. Best of luck and thank you so much for your praise!

Leave a Reply

